Dirty Heads in Tampa: booty shakin’ summer fun

Dirty Heads

By Chyrisse Tabone, Rock At Night Tampa Correspondent

Venue: Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre–July 3, 2016–Dirty Heads

Southern California reggae-ska-hip-hop band Dirty Heads played a booty shakin’ set at the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre on Sunday, July 3rd . It was a perfect way to ring in the Independence Day on this sweltering hot evening, without a drop of rain in sight. Dirty Heads is currently on tour across the US with Sublime with Rome, Tribal Seeds, and BLEEKER playing a lot of fan favorites as well as new cuts off of their upcoming self-title album Dirty Heads (release date July 15, 2016). Two singles are already circulating “That’s All I Need” and “Two Cruel”—and I could tell from the audience’s reaction to a couple new “Oxygen” and “Moon Tower” (singing the words already, dancing with arms raised) the crowd was diggin’ it.

Sunday evening was one big party as Jared Watson and Dustin Bushnell rapped and pranced across stage. Giant beach balls bounced above the heads of the audience, making their way to the stage (one bounced on my head as I was photographing the band), and giving the concert a laid-back Summer beach-time feel. Most of the audience was either standing and dancing or chair-dancing to the music, which must be experienced live. I have to say, I’ve heard their music on Sirius XM (that’s all I play in the car) but a live Dirty Heads performance is a whole different ball of wax—you have to attend a concert to know what I mean. There is a real sense of fan loyalty and warmth between the band and the audience—and the show is really interactive and entertaining. One highlight for me was everybody chanting to the song “Medusa” which really is infectious and catchy.

You can check out some of the photo highlights below:




Tampa-July 3, 2016

Current line-up

  • Jared “Dirty J” Watson – co-lead vocals (1996–present)
  • Dustin “Duddy B” Bushnell – co-lead vocals, guitar (1996–present)
  • David Foral – bass (2003–present)
  • Matt Ochoa – drums (2003–present)
  • Jon Olazabal – percussion (2003–present)
  • Shawn Hagood – keyboard (2003–present)





The images may not be reproduced, copied, transmitted or manipulated without the written permission to Rock At Night and the photographer. Use of any image is a violation of the United States and International Copyright laws.

Chyrisse Tabone, Ph.D.
Follow Me

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply