HOT NEWS Around the Globe!

Overhung’s debut album ‘Moving Ahead’–Indian hard rock in the vein of the 80s and 90s

By Gus Samarco, Rock At Night Raleigh

ALBUM REVIEW: Overhung’s debut album Moving Ahead–Release date February 16, 2018

Let’s just say that I’m. It surprised by an Indian band singing in English. The English language has been part of the Indian culture since the 1600 and the East India Company. What impresses me is how absent of accent the English is. Sujit Kumar deserves a lot of credit for singing so well in a language very different from his own.

Coming from a country that speaks a different language, I grew up with the notion that there is an unwritten rule that says Heavy Rock is to be written and sung in English.

Now, to the album itself. With their debut album, Moving Ahead, Overhung brings out the good ‘ol Hard Rock from the late 80’s and early 90’s. It actually makes me think of the likes of Motley Crue and Poison with lots of AC/DC influence. As the band likes to say: “we are about devolution not evolution! We are still doing late 80s and 90s rock!”

With the exception of the ballad “Waste”, the whole album brings a very energetic, fast paced, good ol’ Rock’n’Roll

Overhung are making the most debauched melodic hard rock since Guns ‘n’ Roses released their classic Appetite For Destruction. With a successful debut full length Moving Ahead under their belts set to be re-released in 2018 via Canadian label Test Your Metal Records, great live shows, and a planned follow up single entitled ‘King of Dreams’, Overhung are ready to offer the world killer sounds coming straight outta India!

Guitarist Howard Pereira explains the very reason for Overhung’s creation was when the members jammed “the energy was infectious and all of us wanted to write more kick-ass music with together…We hope that people are open to hearing our music in 2017. The band’s music is largely arena rock sounding, so at live gigs people just lose it and have a blast!”

I Am personally looking forward to see Overhung playing live in the US in the near future.



Track Listing:
1. Sex Machine (3:42)
2. Insane (6:38)
3. Waiting (5:10)
4. I Don’t Believe Her (6:08)
5. Through The Slime (5:01)
6. Waste (5:44)
7. I Am I (6:02)
8. Must Drink (4:15)
9. Casual Bitch (5:06)
10. You Think You’re So Cool (2:20)

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Overhung
• All songs written by:Overhung
• Produced by: Overhung
• Mixed by: Sheldon Dixon – Rockcage Studios
• Mastered by: Sheldon Dixon – Rockcage Studios
• Album Artwork by: Agustina Olivera

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Sujit Kumar – Vocals
Howard Pereira – Guitars
Crosby Fernandes – Bass
Sheldon Dixon – Drums
Gus Samarco
About Gus Samarco (39 Articles)
Raleigh Correspondent Gus was Born and raised in Brasilia, Brazil but have been living in Raleigh, NC since 2000. Headshot Photographer under Peter Hurley, Gus started shooting concerts in mid 2014 and felt in love with it and hasn’t stopped since. Gus is a very active fiction book reader and when he’s not working, taking pictures or sleeping, Gus loves riding his Mountain Bike and can also be found shooting (guns and cameras) USPS and 3Gun matches. His favorite bands are Metallica, Pearl Jam, Whitesnake, Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Pantera, RATM, Beastie Boys and it goes from there. Gus also enjoy listening to EDM, Jazz, Classic and pretty much anything that has good music quality, not to mention his favorite Local Band, Jack the Radio
Contact: Website

Leave a comment